Graduation depression

I haven’t graduated yet and I already feel the pressure and sadness that college graduation can cause. There’s constant pressure of people telling me what they expect of me and I don’t know if I’m going to be able to meet their expectations. In other words, I don’t want to disappoint them.

Most of my friends already have jobs waiting for them to graduate so they can start, and then there’s me with nothing going on. I’m not even sure if this is what I want to do with my life, after all these years I don’t feel like med school is for me anymore. Don’t get me wrong, I still have a strong desire to help people but I don’t want to be trapped between four walls all my life.

Some people say that these things I’m feeling are okay, that it’s completely fine not to be that person who has a job lined up for them before graduating, that I should not panic and relax a bit. But how can I relax when I have the constant pressure of family and society to get a good job and become someone?

What I really want to do is travel. I want to travel to new places, meet people and learn about their country and I want to volunteer abroad… When I tell people this, they laugh. Why do they laugh? Because it’s something that they don’t understand and so they laugh not to be awkward? Or they laugh because they are stuck inside this box of social constraints?

I’m really interested in knowing what YOU think, please leave a comment  down bellow sharing your thoughts on this.

Jenn x

One thought on “Graduation depression

  1. Well, I’m not even IN college, yet, but I can say that when I tell people my dreams (aka my parents) I do feel like they respond with a weak you can do it so I don’t get old and say my parents didn’t support me. Anyways, I think they laugh partially because of society and the seemingly rare possibility that people do what they love as a career and because maybe they see themselves saying the same thing you said years ago and something happened where they didn’t make it happen. I am struggling with the same thing but I won’t give up because I don’t want to end up like the same miserable people who don’t believe in me just because they didn’t accomplish what they wanted in life.

Leave a Reply

